The dirty secrets in my messy kitchen…….

Wondering if healthy eating will just be too hard and worried that it only works for hippy mamas and God Ordained blissful born again homemakers?

First let me let you in on a few little secrets that might help you feel at home with me and trust that you are in good hands on your path to adopting a whole foods diet. I am sure that I can take you down the path because I’ve been there, done it and I am still doing it!

By the way, I don’t wear tie dye or birkenstocks EVER (but now that I said it, I just know that I will someday-eek I hate birkenstocks-they make me look like I have Flinstone feet!) and I rarely eat granola. And, while I do come from a long line of born againers, when it comes to home making I am more like Cinderella than a happy housewife- while I am not religious by any stretch of the imagination, the truth is, I am just as devoted to homemaking. I am instrinsically motivated to feed my family well and create a nurturing sacred space in my home- something that I believe all mothers aspire to AND that most struggle with, in the modern context of family life.

While a select few have named me a domestic goddess at times, it doesn’t always look like “that”.  I have to confess that I have a few dirty little secrets of my own to confess in my ever messy kitchen…..

Secret #1: I wasn’t born to hippy parents and I don’t live in the granola belt! I grew up in a small town and I didn’t even know what a health food store was until my late teens (and I only went in there for one thing-natural peanut butter!) AND my idea of cooking a meal in my early twenties was- following the instructions on a box: boil water, open package, add water, stir and let sit for 10 minutes, fluff with a fork and serve.

Secret #2: I don’t really “like” everyday cooking, I hate doing dishes, sometimes I find stopping to eat to be a bother, but I LOVE the results of how good I feel when eating real homecooked food AND because I am a mother ( I persist). While I don’t have my cooking resistance “licked”….making every meal and snack from scratch is a PRACTICE that I keep coming back to! I can totally relate to my clients and their kitchen aversion (I won’t judge you, if you don’t judge me)…well, even if you do judge me, I STILL won’t judge you : )

Secret #3: I fed my family organic fast food tonight for dinner and Annie’s Mac N’ Cheese out of a box last night (I was soooo busy preparing to teach about food, that I had no time to make any!).

Secret #4: I eat dark chocolate (whenever I want) without guilt. In fact I am eating some right now! mmmm…yum!

Secret #5: I am an unabashedly unapologetic about my addiction to espresso and have no intention of giving it up…coffee is my soulfood.

Secret #6: I am NOT a vegetarian (although I was for 13 years) and I’m not going to tell you that you HAVE to become one to eat healthy AND by the same token, I am not going to tell you that you have to eat meat to be healthy either. In my personal self validated opinion, there is a diet for every reason and season….each being valid in their own right, yet each not without
it’s own limitations.

The only thing you’ll hear me stand 100% behind, all of the time, is good old fashioned REAL FOOD, as nature intended- simple, affordable and accessible for all of us….

The truth is that more often than I care to admit, I swing back and forth from one day feeling like Cinderella wishing that someone (anyone) would come and rescue me from the depths of domestic drudgery, to the very next day feeling like a bonafide Domestic Goddess!

So what I am really trying to say is that I get it.  It’s hard and it’s overwhelming and sometimes it seems like an insurmountable task to put 3 homecooked meals on the table each day. Rest assured that you are not alone if you don’t know where to start or feel like giving up in the kitchen. Like anything else worth doing well, there are clear first baby steps and then there is the path of practice. For some of us getting started is the hardest part, and for others the hardest part is staying on the path and maintaining the flow.

Either way, I would be honoured to hold your hand on the journey! To discover your FIRST steps, visit my website www.WholeFoodsFamily.com to get your FREE 4 Part Video e-course “First Steps to Becoming a Whole Foods Family!” And if your want to “Discover Your NEXT Steps” you can get started with me @ www.NaturalNutritionWinnipeg.com

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Peggy Boheen on August 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    L O L …. I could have written this- I am everything you mentioned. Born again, used to be a vegetarian, eating dark chocolate as I speak…. thanks for the refreshing affirmation. Keep on truckin’… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by kevin/indra on August 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    nice article Sherry! very real and fun-funny, welcoming and life affirming. the not judging part was soul nourishing as well. shame about the shunning of tie-die though! lol keep on shining

    Reply

    • Thanks Kevin! Now that I made that statement, the chances are pretty high that I will soon be wearing tie-die….I’ve pretty much near done everything I once insisted that I would never do!!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Audrey Stadnyk on August 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    You are so inspiring! I have been encouraged to “get back to nature” and eat more whole foods again since meeting you at Beth’s yoga retreat. I hit the farmer’s market before 9 this morning and when I got home I made some fermented kimchi and dill pickles in jars. Can’t wait to eat them! Now I have some sweet yellow cherry tomatoes and coconut curry kale chips dehydrating in the oven. Also made some creme fraiche. Still have beet chips and kefir to make, but tomorrow is another day. AND I just finished sharing a piece of 85% cacao with my son before sitting down for a breather at the computer….too funny. (The chocolate thing). Oh, I also made some flax crackers last night. Come to think about it…I’m pooped and haven’t even eaten today other than that piece of chocolate and a cup of coffee this morning. Off to find some food. No wonder my son was asking “What’s for supper”…even though he only got out of bed an hour ago!!!??? Teenagers.

    Reply

  4. Wow! You are a natural born do-it-yourself er! You go girl!!!

    Reply

  5. I love this, Sherry! It’s so real and authentic (okay, whoops so those are synonyms, huh?). Just like all the best writing is 🙂

    Peace + Sunshine,
    Joce 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Summer on August 24, 2011 at 4:48 am

    Seems we have some of the same “dirty little secrets!” (coffee, chocolate, Annie’s Mac & Cheese) I truly believe that every day is a chance to do every little thing right; but also that tomorrow is another chance, and loving ourselves and each other trumps it all. Thanks for your posts, love your down to earth style.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Bodi on August 26, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Thank-you for sharing your knowledge, and yourself, Sherry! I always feel like I fail at the whole “domestic goddess” role (but I do keep trying- do I get points for that? LOL!).

    We’re working on making some changes, but it’s certainly a challenge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

