Oil Curing-Super Simple Way to Store the Harvest Quickly!

This past week at Nourished Kitchen’s Challenge: “Preserve the Bounty”, I learned about oil curing.

http://nourishedkitchen.com/preserve-the-bounty/

Wow! I was suprised at how simple it was. It just took me a few minutes to chop up some basil, garlic, zucchini and tomatoes and voila with some oil and cider vinegar.

It was recommended that although rare, botulism can grow on low acid food such as garlic. Therefore, it was recommended that one should add a 1/4 cup cider vinegar to keep botulism at bay and refridgerate after a month at room temp (during which time you would periodically shake the bottle to keep the cider vinegar evenly distributed).

I intend to do a little more research about oil curing, just to be sure about the botulism thing. I am curious why salt is not part of the recipe which I would think would also reduce the possibility of contamination. In the meantime, here’s a photo of my little kitchen project!

While eggplant would have been more traditional for oil curing, I used  zucchini (because that is what came this past week in our CSA box)!  I really appreciated how easy this was, because we needed to hurry to head out to a friends cabin this past weekend. I didn ‘t want my extra basil and tomatoes to go bad while we were out of town!

So all I did was layer each veggie and herb and then poured the 1/4 of apple cider vinegar in. Then filled the rest of the air space with olive oil. Voila!

At first I was concerned that this was not a cost effective way of preserving food with the cost of unrefined certified organic olive oil. But then it occured to me that now I had two foods! A seasoned olive oil and oil cured vegetables. Yummy!

Stay tuned, next we are preserving food in vinegar!

Leave a Reply

